Financial Literacy Camp at Anandapur College, Odisha on December 6, 2014

AFLC conducted a Financial Literacy Camp at Anandapur College, Odisha on December 6, 2014. Around 135 students and 15 teaching and other staff participated. Mr Adharlal Chand, IRS ( Former Chief Commissioner of Income Tax and ex official in Indian Economic Service ) who hails from Anandapur town was the Chief Guest. In his speech, Mr Chand touched upon Indian economy, growth, inflation in a simple and lucid manner. He impressed on the significance of financial education and its need for all in the society.

Prof B.K. Panda, Principal of the college presided over the meeting. Senior Advocate Chitta Ranjan Dash, Anandapur mentioned about the good work done by ‘Abhyutthana’ in the Anandapur Sub Division. He emphasized that financial literacy has become a need of the hour as many people, particularly poor people from Odisha had lost their hard earned many in the Chit Fund Scam.

Mr D. Mishra, the Managing Partner of AFLC in his presentation explained the formal financial system, financial planning and saving, fundamentals of banking , role of RBI, DICGCI. The posters from Financial Education Series of RBI were well received by the students. Mr Braja Kishore Mishra, Asst Vice President, Axis Bank in his presentation explained the banking structure, use of ATM card, mobile banking, PMJDY, simplified KYC procedure etc. To inculcate moral values among the students, Mr Mishra showed three short video clips which got great applause.

Prof Jagannath Sha, Ex Principal of the college, ( Formerly Reader in Ravenshaw College, Physics Dept- my teacher) (79 years) regaled the audience with his lively speech and nicely linked banking with science on the technology front.

Mr Mishra conducted a financial quiz on the occasion. Important points emerging from the quiz like Banking Ombudsman Scheme, RBI as banking regulator, plastic currency, Ru Pay Card, and SEBI. etc were explained. Financial Education Series comic books of RBI on Raju and Money Kumar viz. ‘Money Kumar and Mudra Niti’ ‘ Raju and Money Tree’ , ‘ Raju and Magical Goat’ were distributed to the 12 winners.

Dr Bijay Ku Kar, Head of Dept, Philosophy proposed vote of thanks.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *