Webinar on Investor Awareness Programme ( under aegis of SEBI-IPEF) 10 December 2020

Abhyutthana Foundation Charitable Trust organized Webinar  Investor Awareness Programme ( under aegis of SEBI-IPEF) on 10 December 2020. The topic of discussion was   “ Functions of Secondary Market , Investor Protection Measures “. The webinar was addressed by Shri Susanta Kumar Sahoo, DGM, SEBI Local Office, Bhubaneswar and Shri Banabihari Panda, former General Manager , Indian Bank and former Managing Director, Ind Bank Merchant Banking Services Ltd. At the outset , D Mishra, Managing Trustee welcomed the participants and introduced the guest speakers.

Sri Susant K Sahoo emphasized  the investor protection measures, Grievance redressal mechanism, SCORES Scheme of SEBI. He explained the ABSA method for the benefit of investors. He lauded the efforts of the Abhyutthana Foundation Trust for organizing the  webinar during and soon after the World Investors Week-2020.

Sri Banabihari Panda outlined the functioning of secondary market, role of intermediaries , stock indices , functions of depositories and opening of demat accounts. Sri Panda, referring to the  report of the Bimal Jalan Committee explained  the role of different agencies like, Stock Exchange, Depository and Clearing Corporation in the smooth functioning of the  Secondary Market. He also stressed the importance of the liquidity in the market which instills confidence in the investors. The mechanism of trading in secondary market was discussed in brief  along with the gains/losses originating from them , namely, short term and long term capital gain. The taxation angle was touched upon in brief relating to each type of transaction.

  In all , 50 persons including 11 students from XIM University  participated. The prominent participants were : Shri Brajamohan Mishra,  former Principal Adviser, DEPR, RBI,  Dr RC Mohanty, Former  Professor & HOD, Botany Department, Utkal University, Shri Adhar Lal Chand, Shri Ashok Chatterjee, former chief commissioners of Income Tax, Shri Shyam Sunder, former CGM, RBI and Shri T Moharana, former CGM, NABARD.

Sri Siladitya Choudhury, Trustee (former  GM,  RBI)  proposed vote of thanks.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *